The Dilys Award


dilysThe Dilys Award was given annually by IMBA from 1993 until 2014 to the mystery titles of the year which the member booksellers  most enjoyed hand selling. The Dilys Award is named in honor of Dilys Winn, the first mystery-specialty bookseller in the United States.

Past Winners and Nominees


ORDINARY GRACE by William Kent Krueger*
Seven for a Secret, Lyndsay Faye (Amy Einhorn Books)
The Black Country, Alex Grecian (Putnam)
Spider Woman’s Daughter, Anne Hillerman (Harper)
Pagan Spring, G.M. Malliet (Minotaur)
The Land of Dreams, Vidar Sundstol (University of Minnesota Press)


Before the Poison by Peter Robinson (Morrow)*
Grandad, There’s a Head on the Beach by Colin Cotterill (Minotaur)
Broken Harbor by Tana French (Viking)
Mr. Churchill’s Secretary by Susan Elia MacNeal (Bantam)
The Expats by Chris Pavone (Crown)


Ghost Hero by S. J. Rozan*
When Elves Attack by Tim Dorsey
Wicked Autumn by G. M. Malliet
Tag Man by Archer Mayor
A Trick of the Light by Louise Penny
Louise Penny,Bury Your Dead*
Colin Cotterill, Love Songs from a Shallow Grave
Steve Hamilton, The Lock Artist
Dennis Lehane,  Moonlight Mile
Keith Thomson, Once a Spy
Don Winslow, Savages
Alan Bradley, The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie*
R.J. Ellroy, A Quiet Belief in Angels 
Craig Johnson, The Dark Horse 
Steig Larsson, The Girl Who Played with Fire 
Stuart Neville, The Ghosts of Belfast 
Louise Penny, The Brutal Telling
S.J. Rozan, The Shanghai Moon


Sean Chercover, Trigger City*

Christopher Fowler, The Victoria Vanishes

Deanna Raybourn, Silent in the Sanctuary

Tom Rob Smith, Child 44

Don Winslow, Dawn Patrol



William Kent Kruger, Thunder Bay*

Rhys Bowen, Her Royal Spyness

Lisa Lutz, The Spellman Files

Deanna Raybourn, Silent In The Grave

Marcus Sakey, The Blade Itself


Louise Penny, Still Life*

James R. Benn, Billy Boyle

Steve Hockensmith, Holmes on the Range,

John J.Lamb, Mournful Teddy

Diane Setterfield, Thirteenth Tale

Nancy Pickard, The Virgin of Small Plains



Colin Cotterill, Thirty-Three Teeth*

Terence Faherty, In a Teapot

Craig Johnson The Cold Dish

Morag Joss, Half Broken Things

Mark Schweitzer, The Tenor Wore Tap Shoes

Don Winslow, The Power of the Dog


Jeffrey Lindsay, Darkly Dreaming Dexter*

Lee Child, The Enemy

Jasper Fforde, Something Rotten

Leslie Silbert, The Intelligencer

Jacqueline Winspear, Birds of a Feather

Carlos Ruiz Zafon, Shadow of the Wind


Jasper Fforde, Lost in a Good Book*

Donna Andrews, Crouching Buzzard, Leaping Loon

William Brodrick, The Sixth Lamentation

PJ Tracy, Monkeewrench

Jacqueline Winspear, Maisie Dobbs


Julia Spencer-Fleming, In the Bleak Midwinter*

Donna Andrews, You’ve Got Murder

Lee Child, Without Fail

Jasper Fforde, The Eyre Affair

George Pelecanos, Hell to Pay


Dennis Lehane, Mystic River*

David Handler, The Cold Blue Blood

Charlaine Harris, Dead Until Dark

William Kent Krueger, Purgatory Ridge

Peter Lovesey, The Reaper



Val McDermid, A Place of Execution*

Sarah Caudwell, The Sibyl in Her Grave

Tim Cockey, The Hearse You Came in On

Robert Crais, Demolition Angel

Janet Evanovich, Hot Six


Robert Crais, L.A. Requiem*

Rennie Airth, River of Darkness

Donna Andrews, Murder with Peacocks

William Kent Krueger, Boundary Waters

Don Winslow, California Fire and Life


Dennis Lehane, Gone, Baby, Gone*

Nevada Barr, Blind Descent

Richard Barre, The Ghosts of Morning

James Lee Burke, Sunset Limited

William Kent Krueger, Iron Lake

Charles Todd, Wings of Fire


Janet Evanovich, Three to Get Deadly*

Lee Child, The Killing Floor

Harlan Coben, Backspin

Dennis Lehane, Sacred

Kathy Reichs, Deja Dead

Kate Ross, The Devil in Music


Michael Connelly, The Poet

Harlan Coben, Fade Away

Margaret Lawrence, Hearts and Bones

Dennis Lehane, Darkness, Take My Hand

Michael McGarrity, Tularosa

Steve Oliver, Moody Gets the Blues

Thomas Perry, Dance for the Dead

Charles Todd, A Test of Wills


Michael Connelly, The Last Coyote*

Robert Crais, Voodoo River

GM Ford, Who in Hell is Wanda Fuca?

Sharyn McCrumb, If I’d Killed Him When I Met Him

Tom Topor, The Codicil.



Comments are closed.